The elegant Palais Daun-Kinsky located on Vienna’s Freyung is one of the city’s most impressive historical buildings. Built between 1713 and 1716 for Philipp Laurenz Graf von und zu Daun the Palais is a pièce de résistance of baroque architecture. At the end of the 18th Century marriage placed the building in the hands of the royal Kinsky family who presided over this architectural gem for over 200 years.
All artists involved in the construction and decoration of the structure were renowned celebrities of their metier at the time. The constructer Johann Lukas von Hildebrandt, for instance, was the star architect of his time. Alberto Camesina was responsible for the ornate decorative plasterwork. The breath-taking ceiling fresco above the stairway was designed by Carlo Innocenzo Carlone. Together with Marcantonio Chiarini he also created the magnificent ceiling panel in the Ovaler Festsaal. The Palais Daun-Kinsky stands out for its multi-faceted room design as well as its grand ceiling stuccoes, its breath-taking quadrature paintings and its numerous sculptures.